Prosperity

Psalm73

You may be able to relate to this Psalm. On some occasions or your whole life, almost always, you may be inspired and impressed by the successful, self made winners;  inspired and impressed by the magazines you buy, the ads that may motivate you to choose a coke or a jeep. The idea of being carefree, of being successful is an easy one to indulge,the Psalmist finds. However he finds that this is what sinners are like (v12). They are prosperous, healthy, strong (v6), unburdened , powerful (v8) and popular (v10). And in their hearts they are sinful (v7) and proud (v6).

On some occasions, or your whole life, you might be envious. Envious of such people. In our hearts wanting what they have. Wanting success. Wanting an easier life than the one  you have, free of care (v13).  Envy (v3), is not as apparent as stealing or swearing, but it attacks our hearts, making us grieved and embittered (v21), and ignorant before God (v22).

For those who belong to God, the presence and the person of God is far more valuable than prosperity. Without God, we face ruin (v18),terror (v19), and wrath (v20). By God’s activity and Grace we can know and say that “God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever” (v26). We are with God always, held by Him (v23), guided (v24), and promised future grace.

Treasure this, ” whom have I in heaven but you? And earth has nothing I desire besides you. My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” Meditate on this and on how rich we are.

