“I will build a great wall — and nobody builds walls better than me, believe me”

Now…… Matthew 19:1-12 I don’t know how I got another passage on marriage/divorce and what message the people selecting the passages are trying to send me… Only recently in my April FDR did I ponder the 1 Corinthians 6:12-20 passage in which Jesus’ instructions here are quoted. Even going back to November 2015 I was given 1 Corinthians 7:1-16. Yeah I get it….

But I digress….. Excuse the Trump quote as a title. Hard to not think about anyone else when it comes to building walls at the moment. Nehemiah 3 is a chapter on rebuilding the wall of Jerusalem. On a superficial level it’s as exciting as a genealogy – it’s kind of a name drop of all who contributed. Like linear notes on an album or credits in a movie. I think it’s important for a couple of reasons though:

  • There is a common vision for the task of accomplishing God’s work. There is an ultimate outcome all the people listed are working towards.
  • The work is divided so everyone knows what they need to do and to do it with excellence – without contention and separate interests.

We have been commissioned greatly in Matthew 28. Jesus says “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit,  and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.”

It’s been exciting to come off the World Mission Conference with a increased focus on what our task is as followers of Jesus… to be on mission to make disciples of all the nations! We should have that as our common vision for the task of accomplishing God’s work at FAC.

And how do we do this? By dividing the work according to our gifts and skills which is beautifully articulated in 1 Corinthians 12 with the body of Christ teaching from Paul (and was recently preached on by Myles as part of our Power of One series).

Let us be unified in the vision of the task God has purposed us for and let us be celebrating the unity and diversity of the body of Christ we have in our church!

